Congressman Joe Barton: “California health care premiums would go down 50% if Californians could by health insurance from Nevada or Oregon.”

Just about half an hour ago, at the health care summit, Congressman Joe Barton (R, TX)  made the statement, “There is a study just out… In the state of California health care premiums would go down 50% if Californians could buy health insurance from Nevada or Oregon. ” This was news to me. I jumped on the internet and and tried to find the study he was referring to. After several attempts, I got nada.

So I called the Congressman’s Barton’s office. A man answered right away and he was extremely nice. I asked him if he could direct me to the study . He said he could not because he did not know what study the congressman was referring to. I have to say I was shocked. To be fair he went on to say that the person in the office who was the expert on health care was not in the office because of they were at the summit. Totally understandable.

He invited me to call back, (stupidly I did not ask when would be a good time) and he supplied me with the number to the congressional health care committee saying they could tell me where to look for the study.  A man answered right away and he was extremely nice. I told him Barton’s office had directed me there and I asked him if he could direct me to the study . He told me that they were unaware of the study and since the congressman said it, his staff would be the best place to find it.

Funny stuff.

So I am gonna call back, later today, and tomorrow , and the next day…Until I find it.

Can anyone save me some time? Anyone know what study he was talking about?

Update. February 26.

I called the Congressman’s Barton’s office again to day. A man answered right away and he was extremely nice. Again I asked him if he could direct me to the study. I think it was the same man. (I should ask his name, don’t ya think? Rude of me.) He told me he still could not direct me to the study, and that Congressman Barton’s health care expert was out for the week. Bummer! He sounded genuinely disappointed that he could not help and invited me to call back on Monday.

I will.

Update 2, Feb 26,

WaPo has Congressman Barton’s compleat health care summit remarks here.

Update 3, March 3,

Well after several calls today was a bit different . The very nice man asked me for my information and said he will send it to the committee and they would get back to me with the study. I wonder how long that will take? Has my question just been sent to committee to die?

Well, I will give them a few days. And if the committee does not help, then I will call the very nice man at The congressman office again.

Leave a Reply

